Forces of Nature (A Guest Blog Post) Reblogged!

I wanted to reblog our first guest blog post for those that didn’t see it the first time around. Enjoy!

Today, I am delighted and honored to have a wonderful author, K.R. Mitchell, guest blog. Without further adieu, here it is:

472653_646863125327482_1083351228_o

What do you do when an idea won’t leave you alone? Do you let it sit in the corners of your mind or do you let it out and share it with everyone. The process of writing starts with an idea. Every great, or terrible, book began as an idea. It wasn’t until someone put that idea into words and words to paper did it become a book. Back in 2004 I had an idea. One idea that hounded me for nearly ten years. It lived through a succession of five-star notebooks and slowly filled a vanilla folder to the size of a decent size brick. I was fourteen years old then and I had no idea what made a good story, but I certainly knew what made a bad one. I was never satisfied with the original story and the awful plot, terrible dialogue and poor characterization put me off the idea of writing the story for ten years.

Life happened between 2004 and today. Life happened hard. I had grown not only as a person, but a writer. I went to college in 2010, majored in journalism and took creative writing classes. I had built up a foundation over the years of practice and hard-work that eventually paid under the guise of one ebook. Forces of Nature Lightning Strike was finished on April 9, 2013 at 9:42 pm. At that point I immediately did what any of us writers would do—I went to Facebook and demanded that my friends read it or I’d be sad. I was happy, but upset at the same time. It took me ten years to write this … why? I know that I could not have wrote the same book at 14 as I did on April 9. I had learned too much, experienced too much and lived just long enough to write a better story. No, Lightning Strike will probably not join the category of those boring, yet influential, books you’re forced to read in class (although I was the only kid in my class to enjoy Shakespeare). The goal of my book had always been to entertain readers. I asked myself can I make a better story than some of the crappy ones I had read. I like to think that I have, and I’d especially like for others to think I have.

Let me briefly talk about the development that went into making the first book in the FON series. The characters in the book were different from how I had originally envisioned them. Alison Moody is the protagonist of the series, and one of the character who changed the most. Alison was adopted at the age of 5 by Lynn and Paul Moody who had found her on the doorstep of their home in Stratus Town on the Blue Islands. Her mysterious arrival made the townspeople distrust her instantly. Alison grew up being shunned and ostracized by most of the islanders, and as a result she grew up trying desperately to fit in.

The original Alison was a weak character. The plot dictated what she did when it should have been the other way around. She just didn’t do anything of importance although plenty of important things happened to her. The new Alison makes several key decisions early in the first five chapters of the story and those choices are what drive the plot. She’s conflicted and flawed, but those imperfections are what make the plot go in the direction it does. That’s why she’s a better character, and that’s why Lightning Strike is a better story.

About Forces of Nature Series
The adventures of a young girl named Alison Moody and her friends, Ren Kiramitsu and Edwin Silversine, as they try to save their country and the world from corruption by secret forces with extremist intents. The Forces of Nature is seamlessly mixed with drama and action that keeps you laughing on the edge of your seat. The character development is fascinating along with the twists and turns associated with them. Find the FON Series on Facebook: http://on.fb.me/ZVfuGb

About KR. Mitchell
KR. Mitchell is currently working on a Bachelors of Arts
in Journalism at the University of Alabama. KR. Mitchell began with a love of reading and writing from a young age. Not until reaching college did KR start serious work on honing his skills in writing thanks to vigorous journalism courses. It is an adherence to AP Style and brevity that influences his writing style’s focus on minimalist descriptions, short sentences and conciseness. It’s not the standard, but it works for him. Find him on Facebook: http://on.fb.me/10wHEmK

Leave a comment

Filed under Guest Blog

Leave a Reply

